Aquarist Classifieds
Home Adverts Recent Added Auction Scam Alerts Forum List Your Ad ShopAds Videos Directory
Tropical Fish Aquariums & Equip Marine Fish & Marine Inverts Cichlids Malawi Tanganyikan Cichlids
Wanted Discus Goldfish, Koi & Ponds Retailers & Services ALL ADS By County


New forum at Aquarist Classifieds

   Home  
spacer
   Reply  
  Viewed: 421 -- Replies: 22

PM | All Topics | General | Cichlids | Marine | Coldwater | Tanks/Equipment | Diseases | Members
spacer
Posted Is this a scam?
12-03-2006
17:00 by Panasiuk
from Jack Gardner:

Hello,
I saw your ads posted which am really interested in purchasing from you.Kindly get back to me these details as soon as possible.

1)The present condition.
2)Send picture
3)Pickup arrangement though i\'ve a reliable shipper who use to take care of my shipment that can come for the pickup.
4)Payment by cheque will be fine for me.

Some of the details are at the posting,just need you to hear from you again.
Regards,
Jack Gardner

Aquarist Free Classifieds Ads
12-03-2006
17:07 by Ray
Bargepole and not touching spring to mind,shipper=foreign.payment by cheque= bouncing piece of paper,probably wants you to send overpayment back to him.
12-03-2006
17:07 by tony mcculloch
yes it is.just had the same myself 10 mins ago.
12-03-2006
17:10 by tony mcculloch
"Jack Gardner" Add to Address Book
Date: Sun, 12 Mar 2006 15:28:56 +0000
this his email add
12-03-2006
17:11 by Panasiuk
Yup thats the scumbag!
12-03-2006
17:12 by tony mcculloch
did put e-mail add here but must have been wiped off? dont know why.
12-03-2006
17:12 by Panasiuk
jackgardner111@yahoo.com
12-03-2006
17:15 by tony mcculloch
get loads of them bud, wanting me to look after investments from south africa etc etc etc. makes life hard for the genuine buyers.
12-03-2006
18:40 by fallenangel2006
hi all this is a scam there is another one exactly like this selling and buying motor bikes.my brother is selling his gsxr and some guy in belguim sent him a cheak which bounced , mean while there asocates find out where ya live and try to nick it ..
12-03-2006
18:45 by goeshere
Had the same email offer for a tank... I replied cash is required on collection. Thats the best way to deal with people collecting items. If its something small being posted then ask for paypal or something up front. To be honest anything up to over £1000 people should be able to get hold of in terms of cash in just a few days, most banks allow cash withdrawal of a few hundred pounds a day, and so if they are willing to pay by cheque they should have the money already available so all they have to do is withdraw it.
12-03-2006
18:54 by dannyp
I have also had the same email after a piece of bogwood. Why do they do it, its so ****ing annoying.
12-03-2006
18:55 by Linda Chenapa
we have had same email for our fluid bed filter. just deleted it.
12-03-2006
20:02 by Linda Chenapa
Make sure you also delete it from your deleted folder.
My spam filter picks these ones up.
12-03-2006
20:15 by webmaster
yes, this email is a scam and the address has been blocked from sending em,ails through this website.
12-03-2006
21:15 by Danny Boy
these scams are used where any item is for sale. will look for the website that is dedicated to leading these scammers on to waste time. very funny.
12-03-2006
21:57 by tony mcculloch
hello all. listen to this. 3 years ago i was approached by someone selling tv and video recorders, all brandnew, being interested at the time i let them in, 2 of them. they brought the tv and vid in for me to see, looked ok, nice, big and silver,vacume wrapped. one of these guys was in and out to the van, supposedly checking on it. he let my 2 great dane pups out onto a very busy rd, with a large roundabout, i had to go rescue my dogs before they got knocked down or caused an accident, these guys were not left alone in my home, was not that stupid, or atleast, i thought i wasnt. by time i caught my two speeding and excited dogs i was a bit annoyed and tired and just wanted to get these guys out of my home. as i was happy with the look of the goods, i payed them,£150. not much you may say for a new 32"tv and video, but when i opened them up the smell of paint was strong, yes it had been spray painted, atleast it worked, unlike the video. so please dont get sucked into these scams as you will not live it down. only problem is that it has made me so weary, that when i get these e-mails, i ignore them which is a shame, some of them could be genuine.
13-03-2006
17:19 by Panasiuk
Thanks for the mail,I am sorry for the late response ok,i have a little problem with my computer that is why i cant email you on time. i will have to inform you that i am okay with the price of the Fluval Duo Deep 1000 Aquarium (£150)condtion terms are also okay with me,For the Shippment from your location,i have my SHIPPER as soon as we seal this Transaction from your end.

I have a CLIENT of my that is owning me some Fund in United Kingdom that will issue you the cheque of (£2500) soon as you receive the cheque and when cleared from the bank, you will deduct the cost of the Fluval Duo Deep 1000 Aquarium and the remaining balance will be send to the Shipper through western union money transfer for the pick up from your location.

If this is okay by you, do e-mail me the following detail

FULL NAME ON CHEQUE:
CONTACTED ADDRESS:
MOBILE&LANDLINE PHONE NUMBER:

Jack Gardner...
NB:- I will wait for the cheque to clear before the pick up. I will compensate you with £50 for you to remove the advert from the site
13-03-2006
17:20 by Panasiuk
Just got that one aswell.
25-03-2006
15:24 by louise
Hi this is interesting to me, as I have had a very similar email.....

13-03-2006
by Panasiuk
Thanks for the mail,I am sorry for the late response ok,i have a little problem with my computer that is why i cant email you on time. i will have to inform you that i am okay with the price of the Aquarium (£600)condtion terms are also okay with me,For the Shippment from your location,i have my SHIPPER as soon as we seal this Transaction from your end.

I have a CLIENT of my that is owning me some Fund in United Kingdom that will issue you the cheque of (£3700) soon as you receive the cheque and when cleared from the bank, you will deduct the cost of the Aquarium and the remaining balance will be send to the Shipper through western union money transfer for the pick up from your location.

If this is okay by you, do e-mail me the following detail

FULL NAME ON CHEQUE:
CONTACTED ADDRESS:
MOBILE&LANDLINE PHONE NUMBER:

Jack Gardner...
NB:- I will wait for the cheque to clear before the pick up. I will compensate you with £50 for you to remove the advert from the site


Strange ah.

Anyway I have only just read this forum, after I have recieved a cheque by courier so it has cost them money so far.....lol

I fully expect the cheque to bounce around about Friday.

Thoughts......

Louise
25-03-2006
16:14 by MC
All- Tony's comment "when i get these e-mails, i ignore them which is a shame, some of them could be genuine."

They are only genuine if from someone you know, otherwise steer well clear.

How many of you have had emails from your bank (even if you dont bank with them)
25-03-2006
17:41 by Linda Chenapa
Now they know where you live, they can phone to see if you are in or out, if you don't answer your home phone they then call you on your mobile asking you if they can come and collect the goods and if you say you are out and won't be back til..... then when you do return, empty house.

If that is not their scam, then it is probably money laundering. So all it has cost them is £650 to 'clean' £3700, pretty cheap if you ask me.

If I was you I would inform the police straight away, even if it just to cover yourself against being charged with being an accessory.
25-03-2006
18:20 by louise
They will have a problem emptying the house as we live on a military base with armed guards, so that should stop that 1 as for the Police were half way there.

25-03-2006
20:45 by roy bright
yes, scam, just ignore it Louise, taking big gamble by engaging with this Louise, be careful, marine base or not, is tricky
spacer


NEW REPLIES ARE NOW CLOSED ON THIS FORUM

We invite you to join the NEW Aquarist Classifieds Fishkeeping Forum HERE


Your contributions to this forum are greatly appreciated.
This forum will be retained in archive status for reference.





Previous | Fish Biz | Sitemap | Links | Clubs | Webmaster | Our Sponsors | ShopAds | Directory Visits
Aquarist Classifieds

Enquire About Sponsorship
Enquire About Banners

Frozen Beefheart Food








Admin Ref: Aquarist Fishkeeping Forum > Is this a scam?